United States Capitol Building in Washington DC with American Flag

During August, the Postal Regulatory Commission (PRC) made some exciting announcements. On August 8, 2019, Ann C. Fisher and Ashley E. Poling were confirmed by the Senate for their first term as Commissioners of the Postal Regulatory Commission.

Ms. Fisher has been with the PRC since 2007, serving as chief of staff for then-Chairman Dan Blair, and acting as the PRC’s Director of Public Affairs and Government Relations. Prior to joining the PRC, Ms. Fisher spent her time on Capitol Hill in various roles, including her work as the primary Senate Republican staff member working to modernize postal laws through the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act of 2006. 

Before joining the PRC, Ms. Poling served on the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee as the Director of Governmental Affairs and Senior Counsel to Ranking Member Gary C. Peters (D-MI). She also spent time working on postal reform and federal workforce issues on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Subcommittees. 

The following day, August 9, 2019, the PRC announced that Commissioner Michael M. Kubayanda will serve as Vice Chairman for the remainder of 2019 and the full 2020 calendar year. Before joining the PRC, Vice Chairman Kubayanda was a board member and privacy officer for a digital health startup. He also worked with the United States Postal Service Office of Inspector General and served on the staff of the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform. 

The PRC is an independent agency that exercises regulatory oversight over the Postal Service™ since its creation by the Postal Reorganization Act of 1970. The Commission is made up of five Commissioners, all of which are appointed by the President and confirmed by the United States Senate. 

Want to know more about how to navigate the postal industry? Contact GrayHair and our postal experts will answer your questions and assist you with address quality best practices.

Share this: